We Want to Hear From You!

We invite you to send your thoughts on anything UMBC-related — from a particular story in UMBC Magazine to academics to athletics to student life to memories of UMBC past and ideas for its future.

Send in a Letter to the Editor by contacting editor Richard Byrne at byrne@umbc.edu, or fill out this form to submit one online.

One response to “We Want to Hear From You!

  1. This is just a cool story about President Hrabwoski that I thought I’d share: during the fall of my junior year in 2004, the school lost ESPN 2 as part of its package, even at the Walker Ave. apartments we had the same predetermined package as the actual on-campus housing. One day I saw President Hrabowski walking with two other gentlemen past the Commons, clearly headed somewhere. I asked him if I could speak with him for a moment and he agreed. I explained that we needed ESPN 2 back so students wouldn’t have to go to bars to watch sports – a lot of NCAA basketball games are shown on weeknights. He said he’d look into it, and sure enough, within a week the campus had ESPN 2 restored. I love telling this story about President Hrabowski because he is such a man of the people, especially dealing with students who would usually find it hard to relate to someone in his position. I am proud to be associated with him through UMBC and try to catch as many of his TV and public appearances as I can.

Leave a Reply

